Caveman Nutrition…aka Kicking it Old School

I realized after the first part of this challenge that I had to dig deep and pull out the big guns in order to hit my 6 pack goal. That’s why I’ve decided to kick it old school…really old school and join my friends at Crossfit Ramsay for a 90 day paleo challenge!

That’s right…paleo. As in paleolithic. As in getting all Neanderthal with it.

The theory is simple enough. The idea is that as human beings our advancements in technology and shift to an agricultural society have fast outpaced our genetics. For the vast majority of human history we subsisted on a hunter-gatherer diet of fruits, vegetables and meats. Then along came the shift from a nomadic lifestyle to permanent settlements. Along with this permanent settlement came the development of agriculture. We started adding into our diets grains and dairy products, which eventually became simple sugars, partially hydrogenated oils, high fructose corn syrup and other nasty “advancements” that are largely responsible for our current state of rampant obesity and poor health. So goes the idea that if we turn back the clock and re=connect with our hunter-gatherer roots (for the most part…after all, I’m not looking to start chasing down chickens and scrounging around city parks for wild berries) we can feed our bodies the types of foods it was designed to process.

Now I am a huge believer in the theory that you should read all you can and never believe anything you read. I’m not saying this paleo concept is the be all and end all, but there are some compelling arguments to the theory and the only way to make an informed decision is to give it a shot and see how I feel. So far it’s been 3 days and I must say…I feel pretty damn good. Since I lost my 100 lbs I haven’t been much of a bread guy and I’ve discovered that dairy products, as much as I love them, give my guts a grumpy face. That being said going the extra mile isn’t that big a step for me. Following the paleo philosophy means completely cutting out any wheat, grains, rice,  dairy and even legumes (beans, etc.). I am sure some of you doubled over at the thought of that, but it sounds pretty damn good to me. Meat, berries, fruits, nuts, seeds, greens, veggies…perfect!

Anyway that’s my story. I’ll keep you all in the loop and let you know how it goes. If you want to read more on the science and reasoning behind this line of dietary thinking I highly recommend you pick up “The Paleo Solution” by Robb Wolf. He has some very well thought out and compelling ideas.

Until next time, keep your eye on the prize and feet on the ground.

Cheers,

Jesse


4 responses to “Caveman Nutrition…aka Kicking it Old School

Leave a Reply

