Endings, Beginnings and Action

Ideas are a dime a dozen. People who implement them are priceless.” Mary Kay Ash

So here it is…we’ve come to the end. What a wild ride it’s been! I’m sad to say that writing this I still do not have a six-pack. The truth is however that’s the nature of goals. In my opinion a goal needs to seem just out of your reach or it’s not worth striving for. No one ever achieved anything extraordinary in life by playing it safe. Andrew Carnagie once said that “If you want to be happy, set a goal that commands your thoughts, liberates your energy and inspires your hopes.”

Even though I missed the mark, I chose to focus on all the positives that have come out of this crazy journey. I am under 200 lbs on a scale for the first time in years, I’m fitting into jean I haven’t been able to wear in 5 years, I’ve got more confidence and energy than I did a month ago and I look damn good naked if I do say so myself. Most of all that goal got me fired up. It got me out the door at 5:30 am in the middle of a blizzard to go to the gym. It helped me to avoid the gluttony of the holidays (for the most part) that many people accept as an inevitability. It got me writing again and in the end it seems to have fired up a few of you who have been reading as well.

In the end a lot of the words that have appeared on these pages were as much for me as for anyone else. I’m not perfect…I’m just a normal dude. We all need a reminder from time to time about what’s important in life and writing these posts helped to remind me of what i needed to focus on to have the life I want. Ultimately the only thing that matters is action. Action is absolutely the difference between success and failure. If you’re always waiting for the perfect time or always making excuses about why you can’t follow your dreams, you’ll never get what you want out of life. Remember…what’s the worst that can happen? Take action! It doesn’t have to be monumental, it just needs to be a step forward. It’s amazing what monumental feats can be achieved through the smallest of steps…repeated day after day.

So what are you waiting for? Take action. Not tomorrow. Not the next day. Not because it’s New Years and you feel you need a resolution. Take action because better is possible. Find a goal that gets you excited and go for it. Sue you’ll fall along the way, but failure breeds growth. I “failed” at my goal, but I’m so much farther ahead then when I started! And I’ve learned so much more about myself.

I’m excited. I’m pumped up. I’m still going to get a 6 pack…don’t you worry. And I’m going to keep this little blog going! I won’t write everyday, but I have loved sharing with all of you and I want to continue to hear about your feedback and successes.

In closing today here is yet another excerpt from one of my favourite books (even a lot of my close friends didn’t know what a personal development junkie I am…surprise!).

I was not delivered unto this world in defeat, nor does failure course in my veins. I am not a sheep waiting to be prodded by my shepherd. I am a lion and I refuse to talk, to walk, to sleep with the sheep. I will hear not those who weep and complain, for their disease is contagious. Let them join the sheep. The slaughterhouse of failure is not my destiny. – Og Mandino, The Greatest Salesman in the World.

Stay tuned for follow-up pictures later this week!

Jesse

2 responses to “Endings, Beginnings and Action

  • Louise

    Hey Jesse! Your writing has inspired me — which is a great thing!

    I have a question — I occassionally write a blog for Choices and I’d love to quote some of this blog over there– are you okay with that? I’d ensure to credit you where I’ve used your words…

    thanks! let me know please.

    Happy New Year — as always, a treat to see you. Six pack or not!

  • Brandi

    I’m glad that you will continue blogging – I love your writing!

Leave a Reply

