Day 29…Decisions

“Every decision you make – every decision – is not a decision about what to do. It’s a decision about Who You Are. When you see this, when you understand it, everything changes. You begin to see life in a new way. All events, occurrences, and situations turn into opportunities to do what you came here to do.” Neale Donald Walsch

There are many decisions in life I wish I had made differently…and there are many decisions I wish I would have had the guts to make at the time. I wish I had lost the weight earlier in life, because once I discovered how simple (not easy) it was I wondered why I hadn’t done it earlier. I wish I hadn’t eaten all of the crap I had back in the day…all of that pop and refined sugar and crap may still come back to haunt me one day in the form of insulin resistance and diabetes. I once let a girl I cared about more than anything walk away at the airport without letting her know that I felt about her…I wish I could have gone back and told her that I loved her.

The truth is however that wishing won’t change a thing. The reality of life is that, good or bad, we live with the decisions we make. Even our decisions create decisions. We can either choose be introspective and learn from those poor decisions, or we can let them haunt us. I’ve come to realize that regret is one of the worst things in life…if you allow it to linger and fester it will eat away at you.

I can’t change any of those decisions I mentioned…they are in the past. I can only commit to moving forward. None of us can say what tomorrow will bring and that is part of the beauty of life. The real challenge for all of us is to embrace the present…live in the moment…to breathe in every ounce of life and to be thankful for the things we have.

I will close with a line from one of my favourite songs…”I wouldn’t trade one stupid decision, for another 5 years of life” – All My Friends, LCD Soundsystem.

29 days down…2 days to go

Jesse

3 responses to “Day 29…Decisions

Leave a Reply

