So it begins…

The mission is simple…a 6 pack by Christmas.

I know what many of you are probably thinking…what the hell is this shrine of vanity? What kind of bulbous headed, egotistical idiot would write a blog about getting a 6 pack? I can’t say I blame you.In order to make sense of this all, lets start with the back story.

Once upon a time I was chubby. In fact for most of my life I was chubby. I started out as the fat kid in elementary school. I didn’t have many friends and I kept to myself and I was teased and picked on…that kid. Fast forward to Junior High School. Still chubby, still getting picked on, now my voice is cracking and not only am I chubby but I sound like a girl half the time…great. High School. Still chubby, decent at basketball, hate playing “skins”, trying to pick up girls, immediately getting funneled into the “friend” category…great.

 

Fast forward…I’m 21 years old. I step on a scale in exotic Edmonton, Alberta and see that I now weight 280 pounds…almost 300 pounds…holy shit…this isn’t good. I’m not a happy camper. I am fat. I am a future cardiac patient. I am a future diabetic. I snap.
Over the next year I lose 100 lbs. At 22 years old I weigh in on a scale at 181 lbs. That’s better. From a 40 inch waist to a 32 inch waist. Things are good. I am strong. I am healthy. I am out of the “friend” catagory. Game on.

Eventually I settle on a comfortable weight of 200 lbs (at 181 lbs, my Grandmother had a fit and was convinced I was starving to death…so I had to compromise).

Fast forward. I’m 27 years old. I step on a scale in exotic Calgary, Alberta and see that I am 229 lbs. Holy shit…this isn’t good. This is exactly what I swore would never happen again. Sure, I’ve kept the weight off for the most part and I am fairly fit and strong, but I’ve gained back almost 30 pounds. I snap.

Fast forward. I’m 27 years and 2 months old. I have lost 25 lbs. I am 204 lbs. I am fit and strong, and I am on a roll. I start to think…what if we took this all the way? What if for the next month I worked my ass off and used a little discipline and tapped into all my knowledge and experience and went the distance. The distance…the holy grail of fitness…the “situation”…the 6 pack.

So here we are. I want a six pack…and I want it for Christmas.

Why a 6 pack? Do I want to start tanning and wearing tank tops and keeping my sunglasses on indoors? No. Why a blog about a 6 pack? Am I writing this  to pick up women or feed my ego or show off? No.

I want a 6 pack because it is a tangible goal. On December 25th, I will either have a full 6 abdominal muscles visible or I will not. Clear cut. No grey area. I want a 6 pack because I need something to drive me. I need a clear goal to propel my ass out of bed in the morning and to hit the gym like it owes me money and to fend off the cravings and to regain those habits that have made me succesful. I have a 2 pack right now…and these last 10 pounds, those last 4 abs, are the hardest. I want what, when I was the fat kid, everyone said I couldn’t have. What I said I could never achieve. I want it. This is the last push and it will be the hardest. I want it. Not only do I want it, I want it at the hardest time of the year to get it…the holidays. Game on.

Remember, the brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out, they are there as an opportunity to show how bad we want something. The brick walls are there to keep out the people who don’t want it badly enough.” – Randy Pausch

On to the second question, why a blog about it? The first reason is selfish…accountability. If I put myself out there and I make my goal public and my family and friends and loved ones might see it, then there is no hiding. I have made a statement and set a goal and now I am accountable for it. I either act with integrity, show some guts and follow through, or I fade away and fizzle for all to see. Accountability. The second reason is that perhaps it will help. I am not a model, I don’t have particularly good genetics, I am just a normal dude trying to live the dream. Perhaps someone reading this will get inspired, or through the journey pick up some strategies that can help them in their own life or with their own goals. Thirdly I love to write and I want to write professionally and this is good practice…boring but true.

The Game Plan

The starting point...Nov.30th...

 

So here is the game plan. Over the next 25 days, through hard work, healthy eating and sticking to the basics, I will achieve my goal of having a 6 pack by Christmas. I will endeavour to write a blog every day, including strategies for fitness, nutrition and success that have worked for me. I will also include my eating and workout every day, so you can see exactly what I’m doing.

If you think I’m an idiot, keep it to yourself. If you like the blog, pass it along and subscribe on the sidebar. If you have a question, leave a comment and I will do my best to answer.

1 day in, 24 days to go…

Jesse

13 responses to “So it begins…

  • Jody

    Good Luck Jesse!

    Glad to see someone putting their goal out there and then going to achieve it.

    I’ve thought about the same goal… I guess I had better stop thinking about it and go do it… I’ll be watching 🙂

    Jody

  • Brigitte

    Congratulations on your self-commitment, Jesse! Thank you for reminding me of my own personal commitment to bettering my own health and my goal of losing half of my body weight in the next year. Fifteen pounds down, one hundred twenty four to go.

  • Stephen W

    Wow…. this is something truly inspiring … i was only just yesterday discussing how my weight has been UP and now it’s finally going down and that i wasn’t to achieve a six pack by my birthday (6 months from now)
    i look forward to your entries.. and with are work and determination i know you can do it!
    S.

  • Bill

    Good luck! I hope you reach this goal. I was reminded of a quote I found back when I was in high school and I kept it in my wallet for years.
    “Who can ask more of a man,
    then giving all within his span.
    Giving all it seems to me,
    is not so far from victory.”
    I don’t remember who first said it, but I know you will be victorious.

  • Tomme

    Awesome buddy do it for all the teased fat kids out there!

  • Archie

    Good luck buddy. I’ll be following closely. I have a workout plan as well but I’m not as brave as you so I’m starting January.

  • Louise

    Okay. Okay. I hear you.

    While I don’t aspire to a six pack, I do want to feel my ribs again.

    So…. I’m committing…. to…. read here everyday. And to passing this blog along.

    Oh, right. and to working out minimum 3x per week.

    and by the way — as I’ve said before — you are a fantastic writer!

    WOW!

  • Phase 2…Let’s Finish This « The Six Pack Project

    […] Well it’s March 1st and it seems like as good a time as any to fire this thing back up and finish off what I started. For those who may not have been following before, you can find the complete back story of this little project here. […]

Leave a Reply

